Council Members

The Council is chaired by the AGU President-elect and meets five times throughout the year, a combination of virtual and in-person meetings.  The AGU President, President-elect, Council Vice-chair, and Executive Director/CEO also serve on the Board to ensure shared communication between the Council and Board.

Conflict of Interest policy and process

Three distinct roles of the Council

Job descriptions for Council members

 2013-2014 Council

 

Anderson

William (Bill) Anderson

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President-elect
andersow@fiu.edu

Beroza

Greg Beroza

Seismology
President-elect
beroza@stanford.edu

chauvel

Catherine Chauvel

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President-elect
catherine.chauvel@ujf-grenoble.fr

davidson

Eric A. Davidson

Biogeosciences
President
edavidson@whrc.org

lewis

Frederick Day-Lewis

Near Surface Geophysics
President-elect
FDayLewis@gmail.com

Dwyer

Joseph R. Dwyer

Atmospheric and Space Electricity
President-elect
jdwyer@fit.edu

Finn 1

Carol Finn

AGU Board of Directors
Board Member
President
cfinn@usgs.gov

fogel

Marilyn Fogel

Biogeosciences
President-elect
mfogel@ucmerced.edu

Fu

Rong Fu

Global Environmental Change
President-elect
rongfu@jsg.utexas.edu

hooke

William Hooke

Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences
President
hooke@ametsoc.org

Hughes

Malcolm K. Hughes

Global Environmental Change
President
mhughes@ltrr.arizona.edu

Klima

Kelly Klima

Early Career Scientist
kelly.klima@gmail.com

Lall

Upmanu Lall

Natural Hazards
President-elect
ula2@columbia.edu

Lehnert

Kerstin Lehnert

Earth and Space Science Informatics
President-elect
lehnert@ldeo.columbia.edu

CMcEntee

Christine W. McEntee

AGU Board of Directors
Board Member
Executive Director/CEO
cmcentee@agu.org

mckinnon

William B. McKinnon

Planetary Sciences
President
mckinnon@wustl.edu

Panning

Mark Panning

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior
President
mpanning@ufl.edu

piasecki

Michael Piasecki

Earth and Space Science Informatics
President
mpiasecki@ccny.cuny.edu

Shao

Xuan-Min Shao

Atmospheric and Space Electricity
President
xshao@lanl.gov

Skemer

Phil Skemer

Mineral and Rock Physics
President-elect
pskemer@wustl.edu

swart

Peter Swart

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President
pswart@rsmas.miami.edu

Till

Christy Till

AGU Board of Directors
Council Vice-chair
Early Career Scientist
christytill@gmail.com

vanderhilst

Robert van der Hilst

Publications Committee Chair
hilst@mit.edu

Watts

Anthony B. Watts

Tectonophysics
President-elect
tony.watts@earth.ox.ac.uk

Bell

Robin Elizabeth Bell

Cryosphere Sciences
President-elect
robinb@ldeo.columbia.edu

Blewitt

Geoffrey Blewitt

Geodesy
President-elect
gblewitt@unr.edu

Cohn

Tim Cohn

Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences
President-elect
tim@timcohn.com

Davis

James Davis

Meetings Committee Chair
jdavis@ldeo.columbia.edu

Donnellan

Andrea Donnellan

Nonlinear Geophysics
President-elect
andrea.donnellan@jpl.nasa.gov

elkins

Linda T. Elkins-Tanton

Planetary Sciences
President-elect
ltelkins@dtm.ciw.edu

Foufoula

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Hydrology
President-elect
efi@umn.edu

gordon

Richard G. Gordon

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
President
rgg@rice.edu

hirth

Greg Hirth

Tectonophysics
President
greg_hirth@brown.edu

alan

Alan Howard

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes
President
ah6p@virginia.edu

Jackson

Andy Jackson

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
President-elect
ajackson@ethz.ch

klimchuk

James Klimchuk

Space Physics and Aeronomy
President
James.A.Klimchuk@nasa.gov

Lau

William K.M. Lau

Atmospheric Sciences
President-elect
william.k.lau@nasa.gov

Leinen

Margaret Leinen

AGU Board of Directors
Board Member
Council Chair, President-elect
mleinen@ucsd.edu

mccammon

Catherine A. McCammon

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President
catherine.mccammon@uni-bayreuth.de

Judith-Ann McKenzie

Honors & Recognition Committee Chair
sediment@erdw.ethz.ch

Pizzuto

Jim Pizzuto

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes
President-elect
pizzuto@udel.edu

Schertzer

Daniel Schertzer

Nonlinear Geophysics
President
daniel.schertzer@enpc.fr

Sibeck

David G. Sibeck

Space Physics and Aeronomy
President-elect
david.g.sibeck@nasa.gov

Stanley

Sabine Stanley

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior
President-elect
stanley@physics.utoronto.ca

Talley

Lynne D. Talley

Ocean Sciences
President-elect
ltalley@ucsd.edu

tsoflias

George Tsoflias

Near Surface Geophysics
President
tsoflias@ku.edu

watson

Heather C. Watson

Mineral and Rock Physics
President
hwatson@niu.edu

Webster

Peter J. Webster

Atmospheric Sciences
President
pjw@eas.gatech.edu