Council Members

The Council is chaired by the AGU President-elect and meets five times throughout the year, a combination of virtual and in-person meetings.  The AGU President, President-elect, Council Vice-chair, and Executive Director/CEO also serve on the Board to ensure shared communication between the Council and Board.

Conflict of Interest policy and process

Three distinct roles of the Council

Job descriptions for Council members

 2015-2016 Council

 

Anbar_Ariel_B

Ariel D. Anbar

Biogeosciences
President-elect
anbar@asu.edu

Campbell_Andrew_MRP

Andrew Campbell

Mineral and Rock Physics
President-elect
campbell@geosci.uchicago.edu

Cohn

Tim Cohn

Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences
President
tim@timcohn.com

Davidson_Eric_BOD

Eric A. Davidson

Council Chair, President elect and AGU Board Member
edavidson@al.umces.edu

Dietrich_William_epsp

William E. Dietrich

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes
President-elect
bill@eps.berkeley.edu

Dwyer

Joseph R. Dwyer

Atmospheric and Space Electricity
President
jdwyer@fit.edu

fogel

Marilyn Fogel

Biogeosciences
President
mfogel@ucmerced.edu

Fu

Rong Fu

Global Environmental Change
President
rongfu@jsg.utexas.edu

Hofmann_Eileen_OS

Eileen E Hofman

Ocean Sciences
President-elect
hofmann@ccpo.odu.edu

Kruse_Sarah_NSG

Sarah Kruse

Near Surface Geophysics
President-elect
skruse@usf.edu

Lang_Timothy_ASE

Timothy J. Lang

Atmospheric and Space Electricity
President-elect
Timothy.j.lang@nasa.gov

Lehnert

Kerstin Lehnert

Earth and Space Science Informatics
President
lehnert@ldeo.columbia.edu

mcdonough_william_vgp

William F. McDonough

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President-elect
mcdonoug@umd.edu

McNamara__allen_sedi

Allen K. McNamara

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior
President-elect
allen.mcnamara@asu.edu

Mosley-Thompson_Ellen_GEC

Ellen Mosley-Thompson

Global Environmental Change
President-elect
thompson.4@osu.edu

Tavi_Murray_C

Tavi Murray

Cryosphere Sciences
President-elect
t.murray@swansea.ac.uk

paxton_larry_spa

Larry J. Paxton

Space Physics and Aeronomy
President-elect
larry.paxton@jhuapl.edu

Pizzuto

JIm Pizzuto

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes
President
pizzuto@udel.edu

Sibeck

David G. Sibeck

Space Physics and Aeronomy
President
david.g.sibeck@nasa.gov

Skemer

Phil Skemer

Mineral and Rock Physics
President
pskemer@wustl.edu

Stein_Ross_t

Ross S. Stein

Tectonophysics
President-elect
rstein@usgs.gov

Talley

Lynne D. Talley

Ocean Sciences
President
ltalley@ucsd.edu

Anderson

William (Bill) Anderson

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President
andersow@fiu.edu

Brown_Laurie_GP

Laurie L. Brown

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
President-elect
lbrown@geo.umass.edu

chauvel

Catherine Chauvel

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President
catherine.chauvel@ujf-grenoble.fr

crumsey_jasmine_sec

Jasmine Crumsey

Early Career Scientist
jc2779@cornell.edu

lewis

Frederick Day-Lewis

Near Surface Geophysics
President
FDayLewis@gmail.com

Duerr_Ruth_ESSI

Ruth Duerr

Earth and Space Science Informatics
President-elect
rduerr@nsidc.org

Jackson

Andy Jackson

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
President
ajackson@ethz.ch

Lall

Upmanu Lall

Natural Hazards
President
ula2@columbia.edu

Lau

William K.M. Lau

Atmospheric Sciences
President
william.k.lau@nasa.gov

Leinen

Margaret Leinen

AGU Board of Directors
Board Member
President
mleinen@ucsd.edu

CMcEntee

Christine W. McEntee

AGU Board of Directors
Board Member
Executive Director/CEO
cmcentee@agu.org

Mekik_Figen_PP

Figen Mekik

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President-elect
mekikf@gvsu.edu

Samuel Mukasa

Honors & Recognition Committee Chair
sam.mukasa@unh.edu

Penner_Joyce_AS

Joyce Penner

Atmospheric Sciences
President-elect
penner@umich.edu

Pouquet_Annick_NG

Annick Pouquet

Nonlinear Geophysics
President-elect
pouquet@ucar.edu

rowan_linda_sips

Linda R. Rowan

Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences
President-elect
rowan@unavco.org

Singh_Ramesh_NH

Ramesh P. Singh

Natural Hazards
President-elect
ramesh.singh@sharda.ac.in

Stanley

Sabine Stanley

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior
President
stanley@physics.utoronto.ca

Sarah_Stewart_PS

Sarah T. Stewart

Planetary Sciences
President-elect
sts@ucdavis.edu

Wiens_Douglas_S

Douglas Wiens

Seismology
President-elect
doug@wustl.edu