Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Major research interests are in hydro-meteorology and hydro-geomoprhology with special emphasis on scaling theories, multiscale dynamics and space-time organization of precipitation and landforms. Diploma in Civil Engineering, National Technical University of Athens, Greece, 1979. M.S. 1982 and Ph.D. 1985, Environmental Engineering, University of Florida.

Faculty at Iowa State University 1986-1989; since 1989 faculty at the University of Minnesota. Currently a Distinguished McKnight University Professor in Civil Engineering and the Joseph T. and Rose S. Ling Chair in Environmental Engineering. She is director of the NSF Science and Technology Center “National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics” (NCED), and has served as Director of the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory at the University of Minnesota. Total number of refereed publications 130 (90 in AGU journals). NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1989-1994; Fellow AGU, 1999; Fellow American Meteorological Society (AMS) 2005; John Dalton Medal of EGU, 2002; AGU Hydrologic Sciences Award 2007; Borland Lecturer, Hydrology Days, 2008. Associate editor of Water Resources Research (1992-1995), J. of Geophysical Research-Atmospheres (1997-2005), Editor J. Hydrometeorology (1999-2001), Associate Editor Hydrologic and Earth System Sciences of EGU (1997-2010), Editorial Board Nordic Hydrology (2003-2010), Geography Compass (2006-2009), Advances in Water Resources (2000-2005). Elected service positions: Trustee, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) 2007-2010; Chair elect, Board of Directors of CUAHSI (Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Sciences), 2007-2009. Professional society service.

At AGU: Chair, Precipitation Committee (1992-1996), Hydrology Section Fellows Committee (1999-2002; 2005-2010); Horton Medal Committee (member 2006-2008; chair 2008-2010); AGU Publications committee (2011-present); special session organizer, student paper judging, co-organizer of the “Water in Geosciences: celebrating the past and looking ahead”, Fall 2009. At AMS: Atmospheric Awards committee (2009-2012). At EGU: Scientific committee Plinius conference (2007-2012); Dalton Medal Committee (2003-2004). At NCAR/UCAR: University Relations committee (2000-2007); Research Applications Laboratory Advisory Board (2005-2013); Member Board of Trustees, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (2007-2010). Advisory to Federal Agencies. At NSF: panel review member (2000, 2004, 2009); Committee of Visitors Facilities Program of Geosciences Directorate (chair, 2011); Advisory Council, Geosciences Directorate (2008-2011). At NASA: TRMM Science Team (1998-2007); member of Precipitation Science Team (2007-present); Science Advisory Council – Earth Sciences Subcommittee (2011-2013). At NOAA: proposal evaluation panel (1995, 1997); Global Energy and Water Cycle Experiment, Precipitation Research area (chair, 1994); Global Change Research Program Water Cycle Initiative Study Group (1999-2000); U.S Weather Research Program Science Steering Committee (1999-2003); Science Advisory Board- Ecosystem Science and Management Working Group (2010-2013). At National Academies: Member, Water Sciences and Technology Board (2000-2004); NRC Committee on “Risk based analysis methods for flood damage reduction studies” (1998-2000); NRC committee on “Assessment of the NWS Advanced Weather Prediction System” (2003-2005); BASC (Board of Atmospheric Sciences and Climate) committee on “Progress and Priorities on US Weather Research and Research to Operations” (2009-2011); NRC committee on “Challenges and Opportunities in the Hydrologic Sciences” (2011-2012); NRC Board of Space Studies Committee on Earth Science and Applications from Space (2012-2014). Foreign science advising includes: European Commission panel, Water and Climate Programme (1997); European Union (EU) Framework 7 - Environmental Infrastructure and Collaboratories review panel (2005, 2008); review committee “Sustainable Water Resources Management”, Helmholtz Center for Environmental Research (2009); Argentinian Water Resources Advisory Board (2010-2011).