Macelwane Medal Committee



Steve Sparks, University of Bristol, UK


Julio Betancourt, USGS, Reston, Virginia, USA
Graziella Caprarelli, University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia
Rajdeep Dasgupta, Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA
Jerry Goldstein, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, Texas, USA
David Karl, University Of Hawaii, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Rumi Nakamura, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Graz, Austria
Marc Parlange, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland
Diane Pataki, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Benjamin Santer, Lawrence Livermore Lab, Livermore, California, USA
Lars Stixrude, University of College London, London, United Kingdom
Paul Tackley, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland


Beth Paredes

AGU’s Honors Program aligns with AGU’s mission, vision, core values and strategic plan.  The Macelwane Medal is given annually to three or up to five honorees for significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding early career scientist.


The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Macelwane Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by the Union. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education and outreach. The members of the Macelwane Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and commitment to equity so that the Macelwane Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.


  • Select the Macelwane medalists.
  • Review data from Macelwane Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is operating maximally in terms of the relevant goals of the Union’s strategic plan.
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Macelwane Medal nominations is sufficiently high for vigorous competition.
  • Recommend and implement strategies and initiatives on diversity and evaluate processes that are currently being implemented to increase nominations.
  • Partner with AGU leaders, staff and other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ rewards and recognition programs.
  • Participate in training, orientations and workshops conducted by the Honors and Recognition Committee to be fully informed of policies, processes and program requirements and guidelines.
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on policies and processes and program improvements.


  • The work of this committee is done primarily through the online submission and review system, by telephone conference calls and email.