Devendra Lal Memorial Medal

AGU’s Honors Program aligns with AGU’s mission, vision, core values and strategic plan. AGU’s highest honor, the Devendra Lal Medal, is given annually to one honoree in recognition of “outstanding Earth and/or space sciences research by a scientist belonging to and working in a developing nation”.

Mark Baskaran, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI

Paulo Artaxo, University of Sao Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Lewis Ashwal, University of Witwatersrand, Wits, South Africa
Jitendra Nath Goswami, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India
A.J. Timothy Jull, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
Weijian Zhou, IEE, Chinese Academy of Science, Xi’an, China

Staff Partner
Leah Bland

Committee Charge
The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Devendra Lal Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by the Union. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education and outreach. The members of the Devendra Lal Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and commitment to equity so that the Devendra Lal Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Key Initiatives

  • Select the Devendra Lal Medal recipient.
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Devendra Lal Medal nominations is sufficiently high for vigorous competition.
  • Recommend and implement strategies and initiatives on diversity and evaluate processes that are currently being implemented to increase nominations.
  • Partner with AGU leaders, staff and other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ rewards and recognition programs.
  • Participate in training, orientations and workshops conducted by the Honors and Recognition Committee to be fully informed of policies, processes and program requirements and guidelines.
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on policies and processes and program improvements.

Timeline and Commitment 

  • The work of this committee is done primarily through the online submission and review system, by telephone conference calls and email.

Questions about this committee can be directed to Leah Bland (