Union Fellows Committee

John Geissman, University of Texas, Dallas, Texas

Dennis Baldocchi, University of California, Berkeley, California
Susan L Beck, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
Emily Brodsky, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, California
Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, University of California Irvine, Irvine, California
Steven Goldstein, Columbia University, New York
Hoshin Gupta, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
Robert Houze, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington
Satoshi Ide, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Louise H Kellogg, University of California Davis, Davis, California
James A Klimchuk, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland
Carol Kendall, USGS California Water Science Center, Menlo Park, California
Robert C Liebermann, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, New York
Richard Norby, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Martha Savage, Victoria University of Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Detlef Stammer, University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Staff Partner
Chelsea Fuller, Honors and Science Affiliates Coordinator
Artesha Moore, Vice President, Engagement and Membership

The Union Fellows Committee is charged with selecting from among the membership those individuals who should be honored with the designation of Fellow in recognition of their acknowledged eminence in the geophysical sciences.

Committee Charge

• Annually select eminent Union Fellows, making sure that the number of Fellows each year not exceed 0.1% of the total members;
• Determine policies and procedures to meet its charge in a manner consistent with the Union’s Bylaws, values and other relevant policies and procedures;
• Assume responsibility for vetting candidates prior to the final selection;
• Protect the confidentiality of the newly-elected Fellows until appropriate time for announcement;
• Provide feedback to Section committees regarding promising nominations that are not successful in a given year; and
• Work with the Honors and Recognition Committee to recommend Union-wide policies to enhance the effectiveness of the Fellows program.
• Promote excellence and transparency, and allow broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards.
• Promote diversity and commitment to equity to ensure that all awards are sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Work Plan 

Work to help implement and advise on program changes as recommended by the 2014 Union Fellows Program Review Task Force, and as approved by the Honors and Recognition Committee and AGU Council.

Work with Section Committees to help increase the numbers of qualified candidates in underrepresented groups so that newly-elected Fellows reflect the diversity of Union membership;

Work to assure timely feedback is provided on nominations for any unsuccessful candidates.

Work with the Meetings and Honors and Recognition Committees to review formats for the award ceremonies at AGU meetings and to recommend revisions to award ceremony formats as necessary.

Questions about this committee can be directed to Chelsea Fuller (cfuller@agu.org).