Board of Directors

The AGU Board of Directors is responsible for the overall health of the organization and handles the business affairs of AGU, including legal, financial, strategy, and governance. Board members serve as the fiduciaries of AGU meaning that they are charged with acting in the best interest of the organization.  The Board works together with the Council, committees/task forces/volunteers, and staff to advance AGU’s strategic plan.

The Board has 16 members and is chaired by the AGU President. The Board has a combination of elected and appointed members, each serving two-year terms. The composition of the Board includes the AGU President, AGU President-elect, AGU Immediate Past President, General Secretary, International Secretary, AGU Executive Director/CEO, six directors elected by AGU members, Chair of the Development Board, Vice-chair of the Council, and up to two at-large members nominated by the President and approved by the Board.

The Board meets in-person three times a year (April, September and December).

The elected officers of AGU (President, President-elect, Immediate Past President, General Secretary, and International Secretary), plus the Executive Director/CEO, serve as the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee has the authority to conduct the affairs of the Union in between Board meetings.

AGU Officers
(Executive Committee)

Board Members

Board Meetings

State of the Union

Code of Conduct

Job Descriptions